Cliff hanging

 

 

 

Ever felt like you were hanging from a cliff with no where to go?

At some point we all do. However, when your hanging on the cliff with seemingly no where to go, you have two options: 1) Head up 2) Fall down.

I choose up. Once I reach the summit I can safely repel back down and heck do it again if I choose. However, when you are “out there,” you have to always look forward and up. Once you reach your goal it’s quite fine to repel down and look at the same goal or another from the ground. Get the full view. Lay out the strategy for reaching the next goal. Whatever.

The metaphor or analogy works for me because it keeps me focused on moving forward. Shoot, even when you are in the middle of a climb you can stand back – not too far – figure out what you need to do next.  It helps me to be reminded to stay focused on the goal and change or alter course when necessayr or even retreat and start over form the bottom if necessary. 

SIDE NOTE: On this particular climb we did not reach the summit, but we gathered intelligence, history, camaraderie, pride, fear, and a true sense of accomplishment.

Until next time, I’ll keep my head up and always look forward.

Image

Leave a Reply

